Remote Sensing Committee

The California State University (CSU) Remote Sensing Committee was formed in Fall 2003 with the mission "to facilitate excellent teaching and research in the domain of remote sensing and image processing within the CSU System." The committee is supported by the CSU Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialty Center, and the committee chair reports to the CSU GIS Board. All CSU campuses are welcome to participate. The current committee has representatives from 15 campuses.

The committee's first physical meeting was held at San Jose State University on August 20, 2004. Today the committee is chaired by Leonhard Blesius (SFSU) and currently includes representatives from 15 campuses. The annual meeting normally takes place in July at the same time as the CSU GIS Specialty Center Board Meeting, which is held in San Diego during the ESRI User Conference.

One of the primary functions of the Remote Sensing Committee is to provide guidance to the GIS Specialty Center on image processing needs and CSU-wide software licensing agreements. Presently, a CSU-wide license agreement exists with Intergraph for ERDAS software, EXELIS for ENVI software, and Trimble for GPS software. Participating universities pay subscription fees on a fiscal year basis.

Committee Member Campus Email Phone
Lin Wu Cal Poly Pomona 909.869.3578
Tom Mastin Cal Poly San Luis Obispo 805.756.5391
Dean Fairbanks Chico 530.898.5780
Rod Hay Dominguez Hills 310.243.2547
Jindong Wu Fullerton 657.278.4762
Jim Graham Humboldt 707.826.3823
Jingjing Li Los Angeles
Pat Iampietro Monterey Bay 831.582.4214
Mario Giraldo Northridge 818.677.4431
Sanchi Adhikari Northridge 818.677.5630
Kelly Huh Pomona 909.869.3591
Miles Roberts Sacramento 916.278.6102
Doug Stow San Diego 619.594.5498
Leonhard Blesius San Francisco 415.405.2144
Gary Pereira San Jose 408.924.5460
Theresa Suarez San Marcos 760.750.4126
Matthew Clark Sonoma 707.664.2558
Jose Diaz-Garayua Stanislaus 209.667.3557