Remote Sensing Committee

The California State University (CSU) Remote Sensing Committee was formed in Fall 2003 with the mission "to facilitate excellent teaching and research in the domain of remote sensing and image processing within the CSU System." The committee is supported by the CSU Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialty Center, and the committee chair reports to the CSU GIS Board. All CSU campuses are welcome to participate. The current committee has representatives from 15 campuses.

The committee's first physical meeting was held at San Jose State University on August 20, 2004. Today the committee is chaired by Leonhard Blesius (SFSU) and currently includes representatives from 15 campuses. The annual meeting normally takes place in July at the same time as the CSU GIS Specialty Center Board Meeting, which is held in San Diego during the ESRI User Conference.

One of the primary functions of the Remote Sensing Committee is to provide guidance to the GIS Specialty Center on image processing needs and CSU-wide software licensing agreements. Presently, a CSU-wide license agreement exists with Intergraph for ERDAS software, EXELIS for ENVI software, and Trimble for GPS software. Participating universities pay subscription fees on a fiscal year basis.

Committee Member Campus Email Phone
Lin Wu Cal Poly Pomona lwu@cpp.edu 909.869.3578
Tom Mastin Cal Poly San Luis Obispo tmastin@calpoly.edu 805.756.5391
Dean Fairbanks Chico DHFairbanks@csuchico.edu 530.898.5780
Rod Hay Dominguez Hills rhay@csudh.edu 310.243.2547
Jindong Wu Fullerton jindongwu@fullerton.edu 657.278.4762
Jim Graham Humboldt james.graham@humbodt.edu 707.826.3823
Hong-Lie Qiu Los Angeles hqiu@calstatela.edu 323.343.2228
Pat Iampietro Monterey Bay pat_iampietro@csumb.edu 831.582.4214
Mario Giraldo Northridge mario.giraldo@csun.edu 818.677.4431
Sanchi Adhikari Northridge sanchayeeta.adhikari@csun.edu 818.677.5630
Kyung In Huh Pomona khuh@cpp.edu 909.869.3591
Miles Roberts Sacramento mroberts@csus.edu 916.278.6102
Doug Stow San Diego stow@mail.sdsu.edu 619.594.5498
Leonhard Blesius San Francisco lblesius@sfsu.edu 415.405.2144
Gary Pereira San Jose Gary.Pereira@sjsu.edu 408.924.5460
Theresa Suarez San Marcos tsuarez@csusm.edu 760.750.4126
Matthew Clark Sonoma matthew.clark@sonoma.edu 707.664.2558
Jose Diaz-Garayua Stanislaus jdiazgarayua@csustan.edu 209.667.3557